Annual Filing Requirements
Business Tax Act License and Tax Report - Must be filed within 20 days after commencement of business
The annual report filing fee is $20. For online payment, an additional convenience fee of $2.25 is added. You are also able to change your Registered Agent/Office on this report for an additional $20.
Preprinted annual report forms may be obtained by calling (615) 741-2286, writing the Department of State's Business Services office, or e-mailing a request to: [email protected] OR you can file online: http://tnbear.tn.gov/ECommerce/AnnualReportInstr.aspx
Every domestic and foreign corporation authorized to transact business in Tennessee must file an annual report by the first day of the fourth month following the close of the corporation's fiscal year, or April 1st for calendar year filing.
Corporation Tax Returns
Franchise tax is 0.25% of the greater of net worth or real and tangible property in Tennessee. The minimum franchise tax is $100. Excise tax is 6.5% of Tennessee taxable income.
Tennessee Code Ann. Section 67-4-2006(a)(3) does not recognize the federal S status election and requires all S corporations subject to franchise/excise tax to file a franchise/excise tax return and calculate federal taxable income thereon, as if they had not elected S status.
NOTE: Class 4 Filers read this news before your end of November filing.
Form FAE 170 - Franchise & Excise Tax Return (Tax years beginning on or after 01/01/10) (instructions)
Online FET Filing - File Franchise & Excise Tax Online
Forms List - Current Franchise and Excise Tax Forms (also, 2004-2009)
Excise tax is due by the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of books and records, or April 15th for calendar year filing.